Our Governors

The Governing Body conductes biannual school learning walks.

Governors visit all classrooms throughout the school from Nursery to Year 6 to observe learning and talk to the children.  They focus on how teachers and Learning Support Personnel have a positive impact on the children’s learning and develop their own understanding around the effective use co-operative and collaborative learning techniques within the classroom.

IMG_0278 IMG_0275 IMG_0270 IMG_0280 IMG_0269  IMG_0271

Holy Cross CE(VA) Primary School has worked alongside Manchester Diocese and Governor Support to focus on the reconstitution of its Governing Body.

The new Instrument of Governance is set out below and has been in effect from 1st April 2015.

Diocesan Board of Education Governor- Mr Barry Radcliffe

Henshaw Trust Governor- Mrs Mary Taylor

PCC Governor – St Mary with St Peter-  Carol Howarth (Chairman) and Joanne Oakes

One ex officio Governor- St Mary with St Peter- Rev’d Derek Palmer

One ex officio Governor- St Stephen and All Martyrs- Mrs Sheila O’Flaherty

One Parent Governor –  Ms Maria Papaleo plus 1 Vacancy

Local Authority Governor- Vacancy

Two Staff Governors- Carl Jones (Leading admissions and appeals) and Paul Wardle (HT)

Associate Governor – Rev’d Charlie Annis

Co-opted Governor – Mrs Clair Whittaker

Contact Details:
Mrs Carol Howarth,
Chairman of Governors,
c/o Holy Cross CEVA Primary School,
Ruth St,

Current Membership of the Committees

Admissions: Headteacher, Mr C Jones, Mrs C Howarth (chairman), Miss J Oakes

Headteacher Performance Management: Mr D Oakes, Mrs C Howarth (chairman), Mrs M Taylor

Ethos: Headteacher, Rev. D Palmer, Rev Charlie Annis, Miss M Papaleo

Curriculum/Pupils and Standards: Headteacher, Mr C Jones, Mrs C Howarth (chairman), Miss  M Papaleo, Rev Charlie Annis

Assets: Headteacher, Mrs C Howarth, Mr D Oakes (chairman), Mrs C Howarth, Mrs M Taylor

Disciplinary (staff):  Rev. D Palmer, Mr D Oakes, Mr A Shelmerdine

Disciplinary Appeals (staff):  Mrs M Taylor, Mrs C Howarth (chairman)

Pupil Discipline: Mrs C Howarth (chairman), Rev. D Palmer, Rev C Annis, Vacancy

Child Protection & Safeguarding Governors: Mr C Jones, Miss J Oakes, Mr A Shelmerdine

SEND Governors: Mr C Jones, Miss J Oakes

Literacy Governor: Mrs C Howarth (chairman)

Looked After Children Governor: Mr C Jones, Mr A Shelmerdine

Numeracy Governor: Mrs M Taylor

Health and Safety in Education Governor: Miss J Oakes, Miss M Papaleo, Mr D Oakes

EAL Lead Governor: Rev Charlie Annis

Pupil Premium Investment Governor: Mrs C Howarth (chairman)

Govs USE

Govs USE


Father Derek Palmer also sits on the Governing body of Blue Coat Secondary School, Oldham.